FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Why is Munz taking part in the "Together is better" initiative?

In our traditional Maestrani family business – the manufacturers of Munz chocolate – we have always believed in social responsibility towards our fellow human beings. When we read that almost 40% of people in Switzerland frequently feel lonely, then we simply cannot and will not pretend with our advertising that this is an ideal world. Instead, we intend to act on our convictions and help people again spend more time together. This is how the "Together is better" initiative came about, which is supported by the umbrella organisation Pro Familia Switzerland, which includes bodies such as Pro Juventute, the Red Cross and Caritas. www.gemeinsam.org 

What does the slogan "Together is better" mean?

As is so often the case, it is not the great moments in life that are remembered, but those that we share. And although we may be constantly online and networked, more and more people are feeling lonely. The daily use of smartphones is also on the rise. Young people often devote more time to their smartphone than to their friends. Scientific research has shown that shared activities make people happy long term. And that's exactly what we wish to achieve.    

What is the aim of Munz's new communication campaign?

We want our message to stay firmly in the minds of our fellow human beings and to encourage people to engage in shared activities.

What does chocolate have to do with Pro Familia?

Pro Familia Switzerland loves Swiss chocolate. The collaboration with Munz, however, is based on the "Together is better" initiative and is only marginally related to Munz's fine chocolates. 

Where is Munz produced?

Munz comes from the Maestrani company. The products – together with Minor chocolates – are manufactured in the Swiss town of Flawil in the canton of Sankt Gallen. www.maestrani.ch

Can people come and see the Munz production process in action?

Yes, in Maestrani's Chocolarium World of Discovery people have access to the factory and can watch the production of Munz products live from a viewing gallery. www.chocolarium.ch ​​​​​​​

What influence do you have on world trade?

A very modest one, since we are a comparatively small company. This is one of the reasons why we are affiliated to the Chocosuisse Association. This enables us to bring our concerns to bear together with other Swiss chocolate manufacturers.

To which countries do you mainly export your products?

Maestrani is a Swiss company and concentrates primarily on the Swiss market, but also exports its products all over the world, particularly to Germany, Austria, Italy, France, South America and Asia. In total, we export to around 40 countries.

What is the oldest product you still produce today?

The Munz Krachnuss (Crunchy Nut) bar with whole nuts.

What should I know about the ingredients of Munz products?

All ingredients for Munz chocolate products are of 100% natural origin. For example, instead of using vanillin, we only use vanilla extract from the pod. In the case of Munz chocolate bananas, Munz jellies and Munz mice, 80% of the flavourings are of natural origin. 

Do Munz products contain palm oil?

Yes, 100% RSPO segregated certified palm oil (highest possible certification standard according to WWF). RSPO stands for the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil and was founded in 2004 on the initiative of the WWF. WWF's response to the question of whether palm oil should be replaced by other vegetable oils is: "Palm oil is extremely productive. In order to replace palm oil, significantly larger areas would have to be planted with other oilseeds – with correspondingly negative environmental impacts. The problem is not the oil itself, but the way in which it is produced." Munz and Maestrani therefore use exclusively palm oil that has been cultivated sustainably. www.wwf.ch

Where do the raw materials (ingredients) come from?

List of raw materials and countries of origin

•    Cocoa: West Africa and Ecuador from sustainable cultivation

•    Milk and sugar: Switzerland

•    Hazelnuts: Italy and Turkey

•    Almonds: California, USA

•    Banana pulp: Costa Rica

•    Palm oil: Asia

•    Vanilla extract: EU
 

Are there vegan and lactose-free products?

The following Munz products are vegan and lactose-free:
•    Swiss Premium Dark Orange with Almonds
•    Fruit jelly 200g bag
 

Are the products gluten-free?

Yes, all Munz products are gluten-free. Even the Munz chocolate banana and Munz mice are gluten-free, but are moulded in a corn/wheat starch powder which does contain gluten. These items may therefore contain traces of gluten.

Does Munz use colourings during processing?

Munz uses natural plant extracts as colourings for Munz jellies and Munz mice. The chocolate products contain no colourings of any sort.

What additives are used in the products?

We use soya lecithin in all our chocolate products. It is of natural origin and its use is standard in chocolate production. In our sugar-based items we use some natural emulsifiers.
Munz uses no genetically modified organisms or ingredients.

FAQ

Die meist gestellten Fragen

Warum engagiert sich Munz für «Gemeinsam ist besser»?

Im traditionsreichen Familienunternehmen Maestrani, welches Munz produziert, glauben wir seit jeher an eine soziale Verantwortung gegenüber unseren Mitmenschen. Wenn wir lesen, dass sich fast 40% der Menschen in der Schweiz häufig einsam fühlen, dann können und wollen wir mit unserer Werbung nicht einfach eine heile Welt vorgaukeln. Lieber engagieren wir uns für unsere Überzeugung und wollen helfen, dass Menschen wieder vermehrt Zeit miteinander verbringen sollten. So ist das Engagement «Gemeinsam ist besser» entstanden, das von der Dachorganisation Pro Familia Schweiz, zu der z.B. Pro Juventute, das Rote Kreuz und Caritas gehören, mitgetragen wird. www.gemeinsam.org 

Wofür steht der Slogan «Gemeinsam ist besser»

Wie so oft, sind es nicht die grossen Momente im Leben die in Erinnerung bleiben, sondern die gemeinsamen. Und obwohl wir ständig online und vernetzt sind, fühlen sich zunehmend mehr Menschen einsam. Auch die tägliche Smartphone-Nutzung steigt immer mehr an. Schon in jungen Jahren, wird mehr Zeit dem Smartphone gewidmet statt mit Freunden. Es ist wissenschaftlich belegt, dass gemeinsame Aktivitäten langfristig glücklich machen. Und genau das wollen wir erreichen.

Was ist das Ziel des neuen Kommunikationsauftritts von Munz?

Wir wollen mit unserer Botschaft nachhaltig in den Köpfen unserer Mitmenschen bleiben und Menschen vermehrt zu gemeinsamen Aktivitäten bewegen.

Was hat Schokolade mit Pro Familie zu tun?

Pro Familia Schweiz liebt Schweizer Schokolade. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Munz basiert jedoch auf der Initiative «Gemeinsam ist besser» und hat nur am Rande mit den feinen Schokoladen von Munz zu tun. 

Wo wird Munz produziert?

Seit Maestrani die Schokoladenfabrik Munz im Jahr 1998 übernommen hat, werden noch heute sämtliche Munz Produkte in der Schweiz am Produktionsstandort Flawil hergestellt.

Kann man die Produktion von Munz anschauen?

Ja, in der Erlebniswelt Maestrani’s Chocolarium hat man Zugang zur Produktion und kann über eine Galerie die Produktion der Munz Produkte live anschauen. www.chocolarium.ch 
 

Welchen Einfluss haben Sie auf den Welthandel?

Einen sehr bescheidenen, da wir vergleichsweise ein kleines Unternehmen sind. Unter anderem aus diesem Grund sind wir beispielsweise dem Verband Chocosuisse angeschlossen. So können wir unsere Anliegen gemeinsam mit anderen Schweizer Schokoladen-Herstellern einbringen können.

In welche Länder exportieren sie hauptsächlich ihre Produkte?

Maestrani ist ein Schweizer Unternehmen und konzentriert sich hauptsächlich auf den Schweizer Markt, exportiert ihre Produkte aber auch in die ganze Welt, vor allem nach Deutschland, Österreich, Italien, Frankreich, Südamerika und Asien. Insgesamt exportieren wir in rund 40 Länder.

Welches ist das älteste Produkt, das sie heute noch produzieren?

Die Munz Krachnuss Schokoladentafel mit ganzen Nüssen.

Was muss ich über die Zutaten von Munz Produkten wissen?

Alle Zutaten für die Munz Schokoladenartikel sind 100% natürlichen Ursprungs. Beispielsweise wird statt Vanillin ausschliesslich Vanilleextrakt aus der Schote verwendet. Bei den Munz Schokoladenbanane, Munz Gelee und Munz Mäuse sind 80% der verwendeten Aromen natürlichen Ursprungs.

Enthalten Munz Produkte Palmöl?

Ja, und zwar zu 100% RSPO segregated-zertifiziertes Palmöl (höchst-möglicher Zertifizierungs-Standard gemäss WWF). RSPO bedeutet «Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil» und wurde 2004 auf Initiative des WWF gegründet. Auf die Frage, ob Palmöl durch andere Pflanzenöle ersetzt werden soll, antwortet WWF: «Palmöl ist äusserst ertragreich. Um Palmöl zu ersetzen, müssten deutlich grössere Flächen mit anderen Ölsaaten bepflanzt werden – mit entsprechenden negativen Umweltwirkungen. Nicht das Öl selbst ist das Problem, sondern die Art und Weise, wie es produziert wird.» Entsprechend wichtig ist die Zertifizierung von nachhaltig angebautem Palmöl. Dieser Verantwortung kommt Munz und Maestrani zu 100% nach. www.wwf.ch

Woher stammen die Rohstoffe (Zutaten)?

Auflistung der Rohstoffe und deren Länder
•    Kakao: Westafrika und Ecuador aus nachhaltigem Anbau
•    Milch und Zucker: Schweiz
•    Haselnüsse: Italien und Türkei
•    Mandeln: Kalifornien, USA
•    Bananenmark: Costa Rica
•    Palmfett: Asien
•    Vanilleextrakt: EU

 

Alle Zutaten für die Munz Schokoladenartikel sind natürlichen Ursprungs. Beispielsweise wird statt Vanillin ausschliesslich Vanilleextrakt aus der Schote verwendet.

Gibt es vegane bzw. laktosefreie Produkte?

Folgende Munz Produkte sind vegan & laktosefrei:
•    Swiss Premium Zartbitter mit Orangengeschmack und Mandeln
•    Fruchtgelée 200g Schale

Sind die Produkte glutenfrei?

Ja, sämtliche Munz Produkte sind glutenfrei. Auch die Munz Schokoladenbanane und die Munz Mäuse enthalten kein Gluten, werden jedoch in  Mais/Weizenstärke-Pulver gegossen, welches glutenhaltig ist. Daher können die diese Artikel Spuren von Gluten enthalten.

Verwendet Munz Farbstoffe für die Verarbeitung?

Munz verwendet im Munz Gelee und Munz Mäuse natürliche, färbende Pflanzenextrakte. Die Schokoladenprodukte enthalten keinerlei färbende Stoffe.

Welche Zusatzstoffe werden in Produkten verwendet?

In sämtlichen Schokoladenartikeln verwenden wir Soja-Lezithin. Es ist natürlichen Ursprungs und ist ein Standard in der Schokoladenherstellung. Bei den Zuckerartikeln setzen wir vereinzelt natürliche Emulgatoren ein. Munz verwendet konsequent keine gentechnisch veränderten Organismen oder Inhaltsstoffe.