FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Why is Munz taking part in the "Together is better" initiative?

In our traditional Maestrani family business – the manufacturers of Munz chocolate – we have always believed in social responsibility towards our fellow human beings. When we read that almost 40% of people in Switzerland frequently feel lonely, then we simply cannot and will not pretend with our advertising that this is an ideal world. Instead, we intend to act on our convictions and help people again spend more time together. This is how the "Together is better" initiative came about, which is supported by the umbrella organisation Pro Familia Switzerland, which includes bodies such as Pro Juventute, the Red Cross and Caritas. www.gemeinsam.org 

What does the slogan "Together is better" mean?

As is so often the case, it is not the great moments in life that are remembered, but those that we share. And although we may be constantly online and networked, more and more people are feeling lonely. The daily use of smartphones is also on the rise. Young people often devote more time to their smartphone than to their friends. Scientific research has shown that shared activities make people happy long term. And that's exactly what we wish to achieve.    

What is the aim of Munz's new communication campaign?

We want our message to stay firmly in the minds of our fellow human beings and to encourage people to engage in shared activities.

What does chocolate have to do with Pro Familia?

Pro Familia Switzerland loves Swiss chocolate. The collaboration with Munz, however, is based on the "Together is better" initiative and is only marginally related to Munz's fine chocolates. 

Where is Munz produced?

Munz comes from the Maestrani company. The products – together with Minor chocolates – are manufactured in the Swiss town of Flawil in the canton of Sankt Gallen. www.maestrani.ch

Can people come and see the Munz production process in action?

Yes, in Maestrani's Chocolarium World of Discovery people have access to the factory and can watch the production of Munz products live from a viewing gallery. www.chocolarium.ch ​​​​​​​

What influence do you have on world trade?

A very modest one, since we are a comparatively small company. This is one of the reasons why we are affiliated to the Chocosuisse Association. This enables us to bring our concerns to bear together with other Swiss chocolate manufacturers.

To which countries do you mainly export your products?

Maestrani is a Swiss company and concentrates primarily on the Swiss market, but also exports its products all over the world, particularly to Germany, Austria, Italy, France, South America and Asia. In total, we export to around 40 countries.

What is the oldest product you still produce today?

The Munz Krachnuss (Crunchy Nut) bar with whole nuts.

What should I know about the ingredients of Munz products?

All ingredients for Munz chocolate products are of 100% natural origin. For example, instead of using vanillin, we only use vanilla extract from the pod. In the case of Munz chocolate bananas, Munz jellies and Munz mice, 80% of the flavourings are of natural origin. 

Do Munz products contain palm oil?

Yes, 100% RSPO segregated certified palm oil (highest possible certification standard according to WWF). RSPO stands for the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil and was founded in 2004 on the initiative of the WWF. WWF's response to the question of whether palm oil should be replaced by other vegetable oils is: "Palm oil is extremely productive. In order to replace palm oil, significantly larger areas would have to be planted with other oilseeds – with correspondingly negative environmental impacts. The problem is not the oil itself, but the way in which it is produced." Munz and Maestrani therefore use exclusively palm oil that has been cultivated sustainably. www.wwf.ch

Where do the raw materials (ingredients) come from?

List of raw materials and countries of origin

•    Cocoa: West Africa and Ecuador from sustainable cultivation

•    Milk and sugar: Switzerland

•    Hazelnuts: Italy and Turkey

•    Almonds: California, USA

•    Banana pulp: Costa Rica

•    Palm oil: Asia

•    Vanilla extract: EU
 

Are there vegan and lactose-free products?

The following Munz products are vegan and lactose-free:
•    Swiss Premium Dark Orange with Almonds
•    Fruit jelly 200g bag
 

Are the products gluten-free?

Yes, all Munz products are gluten-free. Even the Munz chocolate banana and Munz mice are gluten-free, but are moulded in a corn/wheat starch powder which does contain gluten. These items may therefore contain traces of gluten.

Does Munz use colourings during processing?

Munz uses natural plant extracts as colourings for Munz jellies and Munz mice. The chocolate products contain no colourings of any sort.

What additives are used in the products?

We use soya lecithin in all our chocolate products. It is of natural origin and its use is standard in chocolate production. In our sugar-based items we use some natural emulsifiers.
Munz uses no genetically modified organisms or ingredients.

FAQ

Les questions les plus fréquentes

Pourquoi Munz s’engage-t-elle en faveur d’«Ensemble, c’est mieux»?

Dans l’entreprise familiale traditionnelle Maestrani, qui produit Munz, nous croyons depuis toujours en notre responsabilité sociale envers autrui. Quand nous lisons que près de 40% des gens en Suisse se sentent souvent seuls, nous ne pouvons et ne voulons tout simplement pas faire miroiter un monde idéal dans notre publicité. Nous préférons nous engager pour notre conviction et voulons aider les gens à passer à nouveau plus de temps ensemble. C’est ainsi qu’est né l’engagement «Ensemble c’est mieux», notamment porté par l’organisation faîtière Pro Familia Suisse, dont font p. ex. partie Pro Juventute, la Croix-Rouge et Caritas. www.ensemble.mu

Que signifie le slogan «Ensemble, c’est mieux»?

Comme bien souvent, les moments qui nous restent en mémoire ne sont pas forcément les plus grands, mais ceux qu’on a partagés. Et bien que nous soyons constamment en ligne et connectés, de plus en plus de gens se sentent seuls. L’utilisation quotidienne des smartphones est elle aussi en constante augmentation. Déjà très jeune, on consacre plus de temps au smartphone qu’à ses amis. Or, il est scientifiquement prouvé que les activités partagées rendent durablement heureux. Et c’est précisément le but que nous voulons atteindre. 

Quel est l’objectif du nouveau concept de communication de Munz?

Nous voulons que notre message marque durablement les esprits et incite les gens à partager plus d’activités.

Quel est le rapport entre le chocolat et Pro Familia?

Pro Familia Suisse aime le chocolat suisse. La collaboration avec Munz repose toutefois sur l’initiative «Ensemble, c’est mieux» et n’a qu’un rapport marginal avec les chocolats fins de Munz.

Où a lieu la production de Munz?

Munz fait partie de la maison Maestrani. Ses produits, comme ceux de Minor, sont fabriqués à Flawil, canton de Saint-Gall, en Suisse. www.maestrani.ch

Peut-on observer la production de Munz?

Oui, dans l’univers découverte du Maestrani’s Chocolarium, on a accès à la production et on peut observer celle des produits Munz en direct depuis une galerie. www.chocolarium.ch 

Quelle influence avez-vous sur le commerce mondial?

Elle est très modeste, puisque notre entreprise est relativement petite. C’est l’une des raisons pour lesquelles nous sommes affiliés à la fédération Chocosuisse. Nous pouvons ainsi défendre nos intérêts conjointement avec d’autres fabricants suisses de chocolat.

Dans quels pays exportez-vous principalement vos produits?

Maestrani est une entreprise suisse qui se concentre essentiellement sur le marché national, mais exporte aussi ses produits dans le monde entier, notamment en Allemagne, Autriche, Italie, France, Amérique du Sud et Asie. Au total, nous exportons dans une quarantaine de pays.

Quel est le produit le plus ancien que vous fabriquez aujourd’hui encore?

La tablette de chocolat Munz Noisettes craquantes aux noisettes entières.

Que dois-je savoir sur les ingrédients des produits Munz?

Tous les ingrédients des chocolats Munz sont 100% naturels. Par exemple, au lieu de vanilline, seul l’extrait de vanille de la gousse est utilisé. Dans le cas des bananes au chocolat Munz, des pâtes de fruits Munz et des souris Munz, 80% des arômes utilisés sont d’origine naturelle.

Les produits Munz contiennent-ils de l’huile de palme?

Oui, et 100% de cette huile de palme est certifiée RSPO segregated (norme de certification la plus élevée possible du WWF). RSPO est l’abréviation de «Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil» (Table ronde pour l’huile de palme durable) qui a été créée en 2004 à l’initiative du WWF. Interrogé sur le remplacement de l’huile de palme par d’autres huiles végétales, le WWF répond: «Les palmiers à huile ont un rendement très élevé. Pour remplacer l’huile de palme, il faudrait ensemencer des surfaces beaucoup plus importantes en autres oléagineux, avec des effets néfastes sur l’environnement. Le problème n’est pas l’huile en elle-même, mais la façon dont elle est produite.» La certification d’une culture durable est d’autant plus importante. Munz et Maestrani assument cette responsabilité à 100%. www.wwf.ch

D’où viennent nos matières premières (ingrédients)?

Liste des matières premières et de leur pays d’origine

•    Cacao: agriculture durable en Afrique de l’Ouest et en Équateur
•    Lait et sucre: Suisse
•    Noisettes: Italie et Turquie
•    Amandes: Californie, États-Unis
•    Purée de banane: Costa Rica
•    Beurre de palme: Asie
•    Extrait de vanille: UE

Existe-t-il des produits vegan ou sans lactose?

Les produits Munz suivants sont vegan et sans lactose:
•    Swiss Premium chocolat noir à l’orange et aux amandes
•    Coffret de pâtes de fruits 200 g

Les produits sont-ils sans gluten?

Oui, tous les produits Munz sont exempts de gluten. Les bananes au chocolat Munz et les souris Munz ne contiennent pas non plus de gluten mais sont enrobées de poudre d’amidon de maïs ou de blé qui en contient. Ces articles peuvent donc contenir des traces de gluten.

Est-ce que Munz utilise des colorants dans la transformation?

Munz utilise des extraits naturels de plantes colorantes dans les pâtes de fruits Munz et les souris Munz. Les produits chocolatés ne contiennent aucune substance colorante.

Quels sont les additifs utilisés dans les produits?

Nous utilisons de la lécithine de soja dans tous les articles chocolatés. Elle est d’origine naturelle et c’est un standard dans la production de chocolat. Nous utilisons des émulsifiants naturels dans certains de nos produits au sucre.
Munz n’utilise strictement aucun organisme ou ingrédient génétiquement modifié.